Über Uns

MPG HLL Profile

The Halbleiterlabor of the Max-Planck-Society (German for semiconductor laboratory, abbreviated MPG Halbleiterlabor or MPG HLL).               
We aim to develop, process and provide commercially not available state-of-the-art semiconductor radiation detectors for advanced experiments focusing high energy and astrophysics research. From the very first detector concept followed by simulation, design, electronics implementation and testing, our technology is tailored to the special requirements of specific and challenging detector applications. Important features are in particular the ability to build wafer size defect free double sided detectors on ultra pure silicon.

We are one of the few places in the world where a monolithic integration of electronics into the detector fabrication process (signal processing, first amplification) has successfully been solved without degrading the detector performance.

Situated at the Siemens campus in the Neuperlach district of Munich, our facilities house a cleanroom meeting the highest clean-air standards, measuring about thousand square meters, comprising our silicon fabrication area, our mounting area as well as test facilities for electrical and spectroscopic measurements.     
Today about 20 physicists, engineers, technicians and students work at Neuperlach

From 2013 on the organisation of the HLL has changed. It became an independent central unit of the Max-Planck-Society. The HLL has its own staff for the basic operation and maintenance of the equipment. Expert staff for processing and system integration is provided by the institutes using the facility. The laboratory is managed and lead by

Prof. Siegfried Bethke (Managing Director)
Dr. Jelena Ninkovic (Head of Lab Operations)

A supervising board consisting of representatives of the Central Administration, MPP, MPE and other MPI coordinate the projects executed in the lab. This way the laboratory is open to all Max-Planck-Institutes which need silicon detectors.

Members of the supervising board are:

Prof. Bloch (MPI für Quantenoptik)
Prof. Caldwell (MPI für Physik)
Prof. Keimer (MPI für Festkörperforschung)
Prof. Miller (MPI für strukturelle Dynamik)
Prof. Nandra (MPI für extraterrestrische Physik)
Prof. Solanki (MPI für Sonnensystemforschung)

The board is chaired by Prof. Schüth (VP)

Zur Redakteursansicht